Spring 2019 music – provisional list…

  • Sullivan: ‘HMS Pinafore’ Overture (IMSLP link)
  • Adams: Short Ride in a Fast Machine (BBC 10 Pieces link)
  • Sibelius: Symphony #5 (last movement)

Plus a selection of film music and other pieces from…

  • Pirates of the Caribbean
  • Star Wars
  • Star Trek

… depending on availability.

Follow the above links to download appropriate parts for the Sullivan (overture only) and Adams (scroll down the page and select your preferred instrument/grade). Other parts will be supplied at rehearsal. (Please note that, although the Sibelius may be viewable on IMSLP, it is still under UK copyright and must not be downloaded. We are hiring parts.)

And, in addition…

Plans are afoot for an additional concert involving a reprise of pieces from last year – Appleby “Turbines”, Holst “Jupiter”**, and others (details to follow). Please retain your parts if you still have them.

** Please bring parts for “Jupiter” to the first rehearsal – here is the IMSLP link if you need to download…


Much of the music that we play may be downloaded for free at sites such as IMSLP
Petrucci Music Library Members who have access to printers are invited to print out the appropriate parts in advance of rehearsals. Please also consider printing out extra copies for colleagues who may not have download/printing facilities. We can arrange for transposition to other keys/instruments if required.

NOTE: The IMSLP site now sometimes asks for membership subscription before downloading. You may enrol if you wish, but if you wait long enough you will see a “Click here to continue your download” button – it’s still free.

If you are unable to download music parts, please click here to contact librarians


Click here to view the archive of concert programmes.
Click here for a pdf list of the repertoire from previous concerts.

2 Responses to Music

  1. Karen Hunter says:

    Mmm, nice. Here’s hoping no one gets seasick during the Mendelssohn 😉

    I presume the concert will be padded out by sickeningly talented individuals and ensembles?

  2. jane macdiarmid says:

    What a brilliant start to the new season – the music selection is fab!!

Comments are closed.