Virtual orchestra, June 1

The last session of the virtual orchestra will take place on Tuesday June 1, at 7:30 pm.

In this session, we will revisit favourite pieces from previous sessions and also try to squeeze in a few new ones. The pieces will be chosen from the following. We’ll probably not have time to do all of them, but it would be good if you could have them ready just in case.

Previous pieces

  • Elgar: Enigma Variations no. 9 (“Nimrod”). Parts can be downloaded from the IMSLP website. (You only​ need to download no. 9.)
  • Grieg: In The Hall Of The Mountain King. Parts can be downloaded from the  BBC Ten Pieces website.
  • Stravinsky: Firebird Suite, FinaleBBC Ten Pieces parts.

New pieces

  • Bernstein: Mambo from West Side Story. BBC Ten pieces parts.
  • Sibelius: Finlandia. IMSLP parts.
  • Shostakovich: Symphony no. 10, 2nd movement. BBC Ten pieces parts. On the BBC website, there is a choice between “Original key of B minor” and “Transposed key of A minor”. Please select the “Transposed key of A minor” option.

The link to the session is the same as that for the previous session. An invitation with the link has been sent out by email. If you don’t receive an email and would like to take part, please contact us using the Enquiries form.

We look forward to seeing you on June 1.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.